jump to navigation

On Your Way Back – Retro Inspiration ! January 30, 2011

Posted by msbobbieg in Uncategorized.
trackback

Inspired Retro

By: Bobbie Jones

 

            From time to time we all have things that inspire us and I am taking this time out to share with you some things that not only inspire me but bring me great joy and pleasure.  Now, please people don’t get the wrong idea just keep an open mind. 

                                                                           

            In 2009 a truly unique film came out entitled Julie & Julia.  The movie was based on the true story of a young writer named Julie Powell.  Julie decided to take a chance in life and put the two things together that she loved most, writing and cooking.  Julie was inspired by the legendary Ms. Julia Childs and she wanted to cook her way through Julia’s book and document it on line.  Well, as it turns out I was inspired by the film and on January 30th 2010 I offered my blog to the world so on the anniversary of staring my online writing career I would love to share with you some retro inspiration that might leave you thinking (A blast from the past can’t be all bad).

            Since food was one of the inspiration for the film I wanted to do my part and throw out some good retro recipes so that when you have your next get-together maybe you might give em a try.

Pecan Cheddar Snacks

½ cup all-purpose flour

1 tablespoon biscuit/baking mix

1 pinch cayenne pepper

¼ cup butter softened

½ cup shredded cheddar cheese

1 egg beaten

1 cup crisp rice cereal

½ cup chopped pecans

            In a bowl, combine the flour, biscuit mix and cayenne. Stir in butter until crumbly.  Add cheese and egg; mix well.  Stir in cereal and nuts.  Shape into 1 – 1/2in. balls; place on an ungreased baking sheet. Bake at 350 degrees for 18–20 minutes or until lightly browned.  Serve warm.  These may just add a little punch to your next party.

             Add a little spice try a different combo that seems unlikely.

Tangy Franks & Pears

1 Large potato, peeled, quartered & thinly sliced

½ cup chopped onion

½ cup chopped celery

½ cup butter

4 hot dogs – cut into 1-inch pieces

2 medium ripe pears, peeled and diced

½ cup golden raisins

½ cup apple juice

1 tablespoon lemon juice

1 teaspoon caraway seeds

¼ teaspoon salt

¼ teaspoon ground mustard

            In a skillet, sauté the potato, onion and celery in butter until celery is tender.  Add the remaining ingredients; bring to a boil.  Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 20-25 minutes or until potatoes are tender.

            Give these two dishes a try and let me know what you think, I would love to know.  And you know what gathering is complete without something sweet for the taste buds – Check this out.

 

Now, you know you don’t need a recipe for chocolate cake – get you a box mix Honey and save yourself some time – On to the next.

 _________________________________________________________________

       For those of you that know me well you know I love the 20’s now for those that don’t know me you are privy to a little secret – don’t you feel lucky : ).  I love everything about this era from the cars the fashion and the food.  Now, I must admit I love classic cars from any decade but those big, massive, sturdy cars that were put together well and delivered one to their destination safely I find very sexy. 

            Although, I was born many decades later I found myself having a strange attachment to everything 20’s.  Growing up I remember watching stories about Bonnie and Clyde, Pretty Boy Floyd, John Dillinger and Al Capone. Sure all these guys were gangsters but they all came along with the 20’s – and era full of flash and glam as well as total economic devastation during the 1929 crash.  People had to pull together and put their lives back together and it is something about that amazing struggle and recovery that lets me know the human spirit can endure and overcome anything.  I guess that’s what draws me in.

            People from the 20’s and later the 30’s knew how to be resourceful which I have been told I do a great job at, but I can’t take all the credit for that my Mom and Dad set me on that path.  As a kid many of us learned how to take care of the pennies so the dollars could take care of themselves.  And we learned to waste not, want not.  If you are not familiar with these sayings it all boils down to this – Don’t be a fool with your money because if you are you have no one to blame but yourself.  (Keep some cash in yo hand my friend).

 

A list of basic staples we should have in our homes to keep us ahead of the game are:

  1. Rubbing Alcohol
  2. Peroxide
  3. Vinegar
  4. Baking soda
  5. Lemons or Lemon juice
  6. Bleach
  7. And always keep some Bacon in the fridge.

Now, I am sure you know most of these things can be used as cleaning supplies but just remember peroxide can clean out and infection, and alcohol can aid in the dressing of a wound.  And, the best thing about all of these products are they won’t break the bank – you will still be able to keep some cash in your hand.   

     Take a few moments if you will and reflect on some things that give you pause and make you smile, it could be something as simple as the way you feel when you sit down in a little cozy diner and you see this

 

Or, something as classic and tempting as a big juicy burger 

Can always make some of us smile. 

I hope you have  enjoyed your journey back in time with me.  Find something that gives you great pleasure and maybe you too can share yours with the world.  – Please keep it clean though : )

 

God Bless

All Rights Reserved

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

